top of page
  • ashleycostelloyoga

Sleep Well

Updated: Jan 2, 2022

I love sleep! I get between 7-8 hours a night - so yes - that means I go to bed around 9:30/10pm and wake up around 5:30 am. I like getting up early to workout, it helps me set the tone for the day and feel accomplished. But back to sleep. Sleep can be very difficult for people for a variety of reasons: breathing difficulties, bad dreams, body pains, stress, infants, and just plan old not 'being tired.' Sleep has become devalued in our society and lack of sleep has some how become a source of pride; this is easily seen in the medical, corporate, and political worlds where sayings like "time is money" and "I can sleep when I die" fly freely. But operating on chronically minimal sleep significantly impacts functioning and decision-making, let alone how you look and feel. In September 2016, I led a Sleep Well Workshop during which I shared with students science and theory around sleep, skills to assess and make changes to sleep habits, and a physical asana practice to encourage relaxation and sleep.



3 views0 comments
bottom of page